The Public Domain Review

This is just an automatic copy of Public Domain Review blog.

Julia Pastrana: A “Monster to the Whole World”

Wednesday 26 November 2014 at 17:35

Julia Pastrana, a woman from Mexico born with hypertrichosis, became one of the most famous human curiosities of the 19th century, exhibited as a "bearded lady" while both alive and dead. Bess Lovejoy explores her story and how it was only in 2013, 153 years after her passing, that she was finally laid to rest.

Source: http://publicdomainreview.org/2014/11/26/julia-pastrana-a-monster-to-the-whole-world/


Announcing Our Book of Selected Essays

Tuesday 18 November 2014 at 16:42

Email not displaying properly? View web version Announcing the launch of our very first book! The Public Domain Review: Selected Essays, 2011-2013Paperback / 216mm x 140mm346 pages / 70lb paper / full colour34 essays / 146 illustrations We are very pleased to announce our very first foray into printed matter: a selection of essays from our first three years. Spread across six themed chapters – Animals, Bodies, Words, Worlds, Encountersâ�¦

Source: http://publicdomainreview.org/announcing-book-of-selected-essays/


Contents Preview

Tuesday 18 November 2014 at 11:04

The Public Domain Review: Selected Essays, 2011-2013 Thirty-four essays spread across six themed chapters ANIMALS Nicholas Humphrey Bugs and Beasts Before the Law Niki Russell Mary Toft and Her Extraordinary Delivery of Rabbits Frank Key Christopher Smart’s Jubilate Agno Mark Kaufman Robert Baden-Powell’s Entomological Intrigues BODIES Nicholas Jeeves The Serious and the Smirk Noga Arikha As a Lute out of Tune: Robert Burton’s Melancholy George Prochnik American Kaleidoscope: Morton Princeâ�¦

Source: http://publicdomainreview.org/essay-book/contents-preview/


Thank You!

Tuesday 18 November 2014 at 10:05

Congratulations, the purchase was a success! Your transaction has been completed and a receipt for your purchase has been emailed to you. See below for details on delivery and how you can help us spread the word. Information on Postage U.S. orders should expect a time of around 2 to 3 weeks, for non-US destinations it should be around 3 or 4 weeks. We know this is a long time�

Source: http://publicdomainreview.org/thank-you-for-your-purchase/


The PDR Press

Tuesday 18 November 2014 at 09:56

The PDR Press is the newly formed book publishing spin-off project from The Public Domain Review. In addition to the annual Selected Essays series, it shall publish a range of beautifully crafted limited edition books – text and image – all of which shall use the historical archive as their resource and starting point. More to come soon…. If you’d like to talk about possibilities for collaboration then please contactâ�¦

Source: http://publicdomainreview.org/pdr-press/


The Book of Selected Essays, 2011 – 2013

Tuesday 18 November 2014 at 09:24

The Public Domain Review: Selected Essays, 2011-2013Paperback / 216mm x 140mm346 pages / 70lb paper / full colour34 essays / 146 illustrations We are very pleased to announce our very first foray into printed matter: a selection of essays from our first three years. Released through the newly born PDR Press, the book shall be the first in an annual “Selected Essays” series showcasing our top pick from the yearâ�¦

Source: http://publicdomainreview.org/essay-book/


Illustrations of Madness: James Tilly Matthews and the Air Loom

Wednesday 12 November 2014 at 18:04

Mike Jay recounts the tragic story of James Tilly Matthews, a former peace activist of the Napoleonic Wars who was confined to London's notorious Bedlam asylum in 1797 for believing that his mind was under the control of the "Air Loom" - a terrifying machine whose mesmeric rays and mysterious gases were brainwashing politicians and plunging Europe into revolution, terror, and war.

Source: http://publicdomainreview.org/2014/11/12/illustrations-of-madness-james-tilly-matthews-and-the-air-loom/


Wild Heart Turning White: Georg Trakl and Cocaine

Wednesday 29 October 2014 at 13:01

To mark the 100th anniversary of the death by cocaine overdose of Austrian lyric poet Georg Trakl, Richard Millington explores the role the drug played in Trakl's life and works.

Source: http://publicdomainreview.org/2014/10/29/wild-heart-turning-white-georg-trakl-and-cocaine/


The Poet, the Physician and the Birth of the Modern Vampire

Thursday 16 October 2014 at 15:35

From that famed night of ghost-stories in a Lake Geneva villa in 1816, as well as Frankenstein's monster, there arose that other great figure of 19th-century gothic fiction - the Vampire - a creation of Lord Byron's personal physician John Polidiri. Andrew McConnell Stott explores how a fractious relationship between Polidiri and his poet employer lies behind the tale, with Lord Byron himself providing a model for the blood-sucking aristocratic figure of the legend we are familiar with today.

Source: http://publicdomainreview.org/2014/10/16/the-poet-the-physician-and-the-birth-of-the-modern-vampire/


Sample Page

Tuesday 14 October 2014 at 21:48

This is an example page. It’s different from a blog post because it will stay in one place and will show up in your site navigation (in most themes). Most people start with an About page that introduces them to potential site visitors. It might say something like this: Hi there! I’m a bike messenger by day, aspiring actor by night, and this is my blog. I live in Losâ�¦

Source: http://publicdomainreview.org/sample-page/