The Public Domain Review

This is just an automatic copy of Public Domain Review blog.

Twenty-eight Years of Co-partnership at Guise (1908)

Thursday 7 January 2021 at 09:35

An admiring account of Jean-Baptiste Godin’s factory, social housing, and workers’ co-operative in the French town of Guise.

Source: https://publicdomainreview.org/collection/twenty-eight-years-of-co-partnership-at-guise


William Hogarth’s Satire on False Perspective (1754)

Wednesday 6 January 2021 at 14:39

With characteristic skill and wit, Hogarth’s frontispiece for Joshua Kirby’s Method of Perspective shows the pitfalls of getting it wrong.

Source: https://publicdomainreview.org/collection/william-hogarth-satire-on-false-perspective


It’s Our 10th Birthday! Celebrating a Decade of The Public Domain Review

Friday 1 January 2021 at 15:51

Its our big birthday! We celebrate with a year-by-year glance back over the last decade of the project.

Source: https://publicdomainreview.org/blog/2021/01/celebrating-a-decade-of-the-public-domain-review


Top 10 Most Read Pieces of 2020

Monday 28 December 2020 at 13:02

Rundown of our Top 10 most read pieces of the year.

Source: https://publicdomainreview.org/blog/2020/12/top-10-most-read-pieces-of-2020


The Revolutionary Colossus

Thursday 10 December 2020 at 11:46

As the French Revolution entered its most radical years, there emerged in print a recurring figure, the collective power of the people expressed as a single gigantic body — a king-eating Colossus. Samantha Wesner traces the lineage of this nouveau Hercules, from Erasmus Darwin’s Bastille-breaking giant to a latter incarnation in Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein.

Source: https://publicdomainreview.org/essay/revolutionary-colossus


Don Quixote in the 20th Century (ca. 1905)

Wednesday 9 December 2020 at 06:43

Colorful chromolithograph postcards depicting Don Quixote in twentieth-century scenes.

Source: https://publicdomainreview.org/collection/pedro-de-rojas-don-quixote-in-the-20th-century


Ikom Folk Stories from Southern Nigeria (1913)

Tuesday 8 December 2020 at 06:43

Mushroom babies, heroic tortoises, death, burial, power struggles: folk tales from southern Nigeria as filtered through the sensibility of a colonial administrator.

Source: https://publicdomainreview.org/collection/folk-stories-from-southern-nigeria


The Launch of Our End-of-Year Fundraiser!

Wednesday 2 December 2020 at 14:20

Our End-of-Year Fundraiser is launched, and the new postcards theme will be Communication.

Source: https://publicdomainreview.org/blog/2020/12/launch-of-end-of-year-fundraiser


En Pleine Mer: The Underwater Landscapes of Eugen von Ransonnet-Villez

Tuesday 1 December 2020 at 06:31

Images from colour pencil drawings made while the artist was submerged in a diving bell.

Source: https://publicdomainreview.org/collection/underwater-landscapes-of-eugen-von-ransonnet-villez


Lord of Misrule: Thomas Morton’s American Subversions

Tuesday 24 November 2020 at 13:29

When we think of early New England, we tend to picture stern-faced Puritans and black-hatted Pilgrims, but in the same decade that these more famous settlers arrived, a man called Thomas Morton founded a very different kind of colony — a neo-pagan experiment he named Merrymount. Ed Simon explores the colony’s brief existence and the alternate vision of America it represents.

Source: https://publicdomainreview.org/essay/lord-of-misrule-thomas-mortons-american-subversions